If your employees punch in and out for work, you will be able to approve these clockings. Before approving clockings, you will need to ensure that your employees are correctly set up for time and attendance purposes. Click here for information.
- How to approve
- Where are my approved hours going?
- How can I revert an approved clocking?
- How can I bulk approve?
- What are approval blocks?
To make use of this you will need to have:
- Approve Time Clocking permission to be able to approve clockings made.
- Approve Leave permission may be required when approving clockings that have a missing time penalty attached to it, that will deduct leave.
How to approve
To approve clockings, you need to go to the Time Tracking section and click on the Review & Approve tab. Clockings can be approved on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis. You may also filter by date, employee, department, job schedule and/or work location (as well as a combination of all these filters).
To approve a clocking, simply click on the thumbs-up icon near the clocking.
A window will pop up with the shift information. You can amend the clockings before approving.
But what do the contents of this window mean?
- At the top right hand corner you will see a summary of the clockings: 6 hours is the length of the shift. There is one clocking of 5 hours and 15 mins (this also includes an hour unpaid break, as can be seen in the shift breakdown - see point 2). Therefore, out of a 6 hour shift +1 hour unpaid break, the employee clocked 1 hour 45 mins less than they were supposed to. Highlighted in red, you will see the missing time. These can be booked as leave from this window. Click here for more information.
- Breakdown of the shift. This is a visual representation of the employee's published shift.
- Breakdown of the clockings. This is a visual representation of the employee's clocked time.
- Breakdown of what is being approved. Here you will see how many hours are being approved as basic hours, as overtime, and how long the unpaid break is. In the case where clockings spill beyond midnight (and to another day), you will see the breakdown of each affected day.
Click approve and close to finalise this approval.
Where are my approved hours going?
After approving hours, they will disappear from the pending approval list. To view the approved hours, click on the approved hours switch. You may view the clockings by clicking on the edit button. You may revert the clockings by clicking on the circular arrow.
How can I revert an approved clocking?
Once a clocking has been approved, you can revert the approval. This can only be done if the clocking has not already been linked to a locked payroll. To do this you will need to click on the "Clear Approved Hours" icon as shown below.
How can I bulk approve?
However, approving shifts one by one can be a lengthy process. To approve in bulk, simply click on the tick box underneath the Pending Approval field to select all the clockings. Then a small button will appear on the bottom right hand side of your screen: Bulk approve X selected rows:
Clicking on it will allow you to approve numerous clockings easily:
What are approval blocks?
Approval blocks appear when you try to approve a clocking which does not have a shift assigned to it. You will see a plus icon instead of a thumbs up:
Clicking on the plus icon will allow you to create an approval block and approve the clockings anyway. For more information on approval blocks, click here.
Review and approve review & approve clockings approval time and attendance T&A