Publishing the Working Schedule

Alasdair MacNeill
Alasdair MacNeill
  • Updated

Overview

Once you have populated the Working Schedule section with your employees' shifts, you will need to publish the shifts. Publishing the shifts means that the shifts are finalised. Any new clockings made by employees will now be connected to their published shifts. 

Permissions

To make use of this section, you will need the Manage Time and Attendance Settings and Manage T&A Working Schedules permissions.

Publishing the Working Schedule

Once your schedule is generated, it will be displayed in an Unpublished state. In an Unpublished state, the information is only visible to admins (or users who have the Manage T&A Working Schedules permission).

Schedules may be shared with your employees by publishing the shifts. Whilst doing so, there is also the option to generate email notification to the employees.

To publish your generated schedule, click on the three dots as seen below and select Publish Changes button on the Working Schedule.

You can switch on the Send an email notification to the selected employees button to send the shift information to the employee(s) to their work email address.

 

Please note that the employee must have a work email address saved on their profile in order to receive such email notifications.

The email will look like the below:

 

When you are publishing the Working Schedule, the dialog will be based on the filters you have shown at the time. As such you can publish for specific employees, departments or for everyone if the filters show this. Otherwise you can remove the filtered information in the dialog box to expand what needs to be published:

 

Editing Shifts

If you would like to make changes to your schedule, there are two ways to edit shifts:

  1. Editing and Publishing

    This option involves editing an already published shift. Here, you can edit 



    Click on the three dots near the shift you would like to edit, and select edit shift. Change the shift template or input the new hours of the changed shift and select save changes and publish.
    This option will not notify the employee of any changes by email. 

  2. Unpublish, clear, and re-publish

    The second option will allow you to send an email notification to the employee. This approach requires the unpublishing of a shift first:
    1. Click on the three dots near the desired shift;
    2. Click on unpublish shift;
    3. Click on the three dots again and select Remove Shift;


    4. Then click on the sign and select add shift;
    5. You can add the relevant shift (through a template or by creating an ad-hoc shift by inputting the times of the shift;
    6. Click create;
    7. Then click on the 3 dots and select publish shift. You can select the email notification option here.

Share: