How do I set permissions?

Daniel Galea St John
Daniel Galea St John
  • Updated

Overview

What you can see and do on Talexio depends on the permissions you have in place. These rights can be granted either on an individual level or via an Access Level. It is important to grant users the correct permissions before giving them access to Talexio. Although this might sound daunting, the instructions in this article will make things much simpler for you.

 

Permissions

To be able to set permissions, you will need the Manage Permissions permission set on Global (more information on this will be explained further on). You can also assign users Access Levels if you have the Assign Access Levels permission. For information on this, click here

What is a Permission?

A permission is the right to perform a particular action. A permission can be given to have exercise over specific Employees, over specific Units, over employee who report to you, or over the whole organisation, also known as Global.

For a list of all available permissions, click here.

What is an Access Level?

An Access Level is a collection of permissions that you can create to give the same permissions to multiple users without having to modify each employee’s permissions individually. An Access Level would be linked to many employees and many permissions.

For example, an Admin Access Level includes the rights to do anything on the system.

Admin Access Level.jpg

A Team Member Access Level, on the other hand, has basic permissions such as requesting leave.

Team Memeber Access Level.jpg

When setting up your Permissions structure, it is best to set up the Access Level first. You can then assign employees this Access Level. When using Talexio for the first time, a number of default Access Levels will have already been set up (but will not have been assigned to employees) The default Access Levels are:

  1. Admin - this Access Level gives the user the rights to everything on the system;
  2. Team Member - this is a basic employee Access Level which allows the user to view their own personal data and request leave for themselves;
  3. HR Manager - this Access Level gives the user the rights to approve leave and manage employee data - but not payroll;
  4. Manager - this Access Level is the same as the HR Manager Access Level, but it only allows the user to approve leave and manage employee data of employees within their own department;
  5. Payroll Admin - this Access Level gives the user the rights to manage payroll for the company.

 

Global, Reporting to, Unit, and Employee level permissions

When adding a permission, you need to select what level the permission is granted. There are 3 levels: Global, Unit, and Employee.

  • Global permissions grant access to the particular feature over every employee within the organisation. For example, if employee X has the 'Approve Leave' permission assigned to him/her and this is set to 'Global', this means that employee X can approve the leave of anyone in the company.
    You can Identify the permissions assigned to a Global Level from the small globe icon which shows "Global" when you hover over it.

    Global Permission.jpg
  • You may be given the permission to do certain actions (such as leave approval) only for those who report to you.


    Reporting lines are set up in the employee's employment position section. If you set permissions to be applicable on Reporting Lines, then the user(s) with these permissions will be able to perform actions (view/manage) for employees who report to them. Any exclusions within the permission still take a priority even if the employee reports to the user directly.

    This cannot be used on the Manage permissions permission. When assigning permissions individually, the Reporting Lines checkbox will not show for this permission. If the permission is assigned as part of multiple permissions (configuration of an access level), the Manage Permissions permission will be ignored for that particular permission - an alert states this in the dialog. 

    To set reporting lines, check out the instructions here.
  • Unlike Global permissions, Unit Level permissions require you to choose over which Units (Departments) the permission applies. When adding a permission at Unit Level, you may select “include self” if the employee being assigned is included in that specified Unit. If ''Include self'' is not selected then you will be able to exercise the permission over the employees within your department excluding yourself.
    You can Identify the permissions assigned to a Unit Level from the small Unit icon which shows "Own Unit" or the Unit(s) name when you hover over it.

    Unit Permission.jpg
  • You might want to give certain employees permission to action certain tasks for specific people. This may include of the employee themselves. In this scenario, you can assign a permission over "Self". Otherwise the specific employee name would be included.
    You can Identify the permissions assigned at Employee Level from the Employee icon which shows "Self" or the Employee(s) name when you hover over it.

    Employee Permission.jpg

Granting Permissions to Employees

So how do you actually grant a user permissions? Keep reading for a step-by-step guide:

    1. Go to the Permissions section and click on the Access Levels tab;
    2. Choose the Permission Access Level by clicking on it. The middle column will then show you the permissions assigned to that Access Level;
    3. In the 3rd column (employees), click on the button +Add Employees.

      Assign Access Level.jpg

    4. From the dialog, add the employee(s) to be assigned to the Access Level and click Add.

      Assign Access Level Employee List.jpg
  • After setting up the employees within Access Levels, which contains permissions shared across multiple employees, you may add additional permissions directly to a specific employee that the others will not have. To do so, follow the below steps:
    1. Go to the Permissions section and click on the Employees tab;
    2. From the left column "Employees", search and select the specific employee;

      Additional Permissions.jpg

    3. The middle column will show the Access Levels the employee is assigned to. You can click on + Add Access Level to add another group of permissions to this specific employee;

      Additional Permissions Access Level.jpg

    4. From the far right column "Additional Permissions", you can add permissions directly to the employee that only they will have. Click on + Add Permission to assign the permission and the appropriate level.

  • One more thing you may want to do is give a permission but exclude certain employees. The below points explain these scenarios:
    1. Global Level excluding Employee(s)
      When giving a permission on Global Level excluding Employee(s), you will specify the employee(s) to be excluded. If all specified employees are set as Excluded, the permission will automatically revert to Global with these employee(s) excluded.



    2. Unit Level excluding Employee(s)
      When giving a permission on Unit Level excluding Employee(s), you will first specify the Unit(s) to which the permission should apply. Then you can specify employee(s) to be excluded.

Creating, Editing and Deleting an Access Level

Earlier, we mentioned that there are pre-set Access Levels, such as Team Member. However, you are at complete liberty to edit or delete any existing Access Level. Of course, you may also create a new Access Level entirely. 

It is highly recommended that the Access Level "Admin" is not changed/deleted so that existing Admins do not lose any functionality.

    1. Go to the Permissions section and click on the Access Level tab;
    2. Select + Add New.

      Create Access Level.jpg

      The Access Level will need a name and additionally you can give the Access Level a description and a colour to distinguish the different Access Levels.

      Create Access Level Details.jpg

    3. Then click on the Access Level and click on + Add Permission'.

      Create Access Level Permissions.jpg

      From the list, select the permissions applicable to this Access Level (they may be edited at a later stage should you wish to). Select whether these permissions are going to apply on a global, employee or unit leave and press save.



    4. Lastly, click on + Add Employee and select the employees who are to be assigned to this Access Level. An employee may be added or removed at any stage. 

      Create Access Level Employees.jpg
  • You can Edit/Delete an Access Level from the 3 dot menus shown below:

    Edit Delete Access Level.jpg

Do I need to refresh Talexio if I change an employee's permissions?

When you change permissions for a user (add more permissions or remove permissions), the user concerned might need to refresh their page in order to see the new changes taking effect.

Related to

Share: